Vegan Comfort Foods

Sometimes you just want those good ol’ comfort foods. Well, I found a recipe for lentil sloppy joes from Chocolate Covered Katie that looked pretty good. I don’t know that I’ve really ever eaten lentils before. If so it’s only been a couple of times. Anyway, I had some lentils that I bough at Whole Foods a couple months ago and decided this would be a great time to use those. They were an Autumn Blend and included a colorful mix of different types of lentils.

Lentil Sloppy Joes

I mixed up the recipe kind of like the directions said…haven’t I mentioned before that I don’t follow recipes very well? I didn’t really measure the spices, just dumped them in. I’d say I erred on the side of not as much instead of too much. I’m not sure I’m a huge fan of cumin so I only did a shake or so of that. It tasted pretty good, but I doctored a bit more by adding some barbeque sauce and a little yellow mustard. I also wondered if it would appeal to me even more if I made it like I would normally make my sloppy joes. I also wondered if my family would be willing to give it a taste if that were the case.

Since the lentils were a mix, I think that some of them were cooked more than others. Some were a bit more firm, but I kind of liked that.

Since I was having sloppy joes I thought I “needed” some kind of taters. So, I dug out the french fry cutter that my grandma gave to me and tried that out. I cooked the potatoes in the microwave for a few minutes (I love my Pampered Chef Micro-cookers). Then put them in a pan and broiled them for a bit. They could have stood to stay in a bit longer and get a little more crispy, but I was getting impatient.

I was very pleased with this meal. When I first started mixing it up I was a little unsure. And kept thinking that was a lot of lentils to waste if  I didn’t end up liking it. I will be adding this to my mental list of meals to make again. Although, it may not taste exactly the same the next time.

What vegan comfort foods do you love? I’d love to hear some more ideas. Especially if they are something my non-planted based, rather picky family might eat!

One thought on “Vegan Comfort Foods

Leave a Reply

