Weigh-in Wednesday and Juicing!

12184900865816y4

As you know from previous weigh-in posts…I’m getting a bit frustrated! I’m ready to see the scales go down!!! I weighed in this morning at 193.6. That is down 1.4 lbs. Yay!

I have a new goal for the next 7-10 days. Juicing! I watched a documentary called Fat, Sick and Nearly Dead. The man in the documentary did a 60 day juice fast. I do not plan on going to that extreme, but I figure 7-10 would be beneficial. I’m hoping this will jump-start things a bit. A cleanse with some weight loss (hopefully) and then I plan to go back eating plant-based.

I went to the grocery yesterday to stock up on some fruits and vegetables. Here is what I got:

100_5290

 

I already had some other things that can be used too. I’m not sure how long all of this will last. Yes, it’s a bit expensive, but I guess it’s not really that much more than buying food for the way I eat normally.

I had a fruit-based juice for breakfast. It included spinach, oranges, lime, grapes, cucumber and pear. I think that was it…forgot already. I just kind of threw some things in and hoped it worked out.  It was actually very tasty!

For lunch I’m having veggies: spinach, apple, carrot, celery, cucumber, and a tiny bit of ginger. Again, we were just adding things to it. It doesn’t taste too bad, I wouldn’t say delicious, but it’s something I can drink.

So far, so good…we’ll see what I’m saying after another day or two of just juice!

If you’ve juiced and have a favorite combination I would LOVE to hear it!

4 thoughts on “Weigh-in Wednesday and Juicing!

  1. Hi, I am currently on Day 30 of a juice fast and it’s been a great experience so far! I’m down around 30 lbs, and feel pretty awesome.

    Keep in mind Days 1-3 are always the hardest. My favourite juice recipe is:
    2 bunches of kale or spinach
    3 carrots
    2 cucumbers
    2 apples

    I make variations of that recipe all the time, it seems to work for me. Also make sure you stock up on mason jars, or some sort of sealed containers so you can make juice in batches so you’re not whipping out your juicer every few hours. It’s not sustainable, you need to always have juice prepared.

    Happy juicing!

    • Congrats on the 30 days! What an accomplishment! Thanks for the recipe. It sounds tasty. I do have some mason jars and need to work on juicing a couple meals at once. I did that yesterday and it really helped. How long will you continue your juice fast?

      Happy juicing to you as well!

      • Hi Jess,
        I am continuing for 50 days, and then will be switching to a mostly plant based diet. Well that is the plan for now. I am excited to learn to make yummy, but healthy foods, and continue on in this lifestyle. I am armed with vegan cookbooks and a “Dummy’s Guide to Clean Eating”.

        Looking forward to reading about your progress, am now a follower of your blog.

        Cheers!

      • I am really enjoying the plant-based diet. FAR more than I ever expected! I have put your blog in my favorites and will be following along with you as well. Have you seen the Happy Herbivore cookbooks? I love those.

Leave a Reply

