Rice Mix Copycat

You know the ones…they come in a box. Chicken flavored or whatever. My family loooooves them. I’ve never been a huge fan, but now that I’m starting to eat better, I can hardly stand them because they are sooooooo salty. Well, besides the fact that they contain animal products.

Every time I open one of those boxes I comment about how they can’t be that hard to make at home. It’s just rice and tiny pieces of pasta with some seasonings. Soooo, today, I made my own.

100_5226

Still looks pretty bland, but that’s about normal. I had all 3 of my boys try it and they all liked it! Yay! I’m interested to see what my husband thinks of it.

Here’s the “recipe”. Sorry, I’m not one to use recipes very much.

No Box Rice Mix

1/2 cup white rice
approx. 1/4 cup broken vermicelli pieces
1 1/2 cups water
1 Tbsp. veggie bouillon
sprinkle of garlic powder, onion powder and parsley

Lightly spray pan with cooking oil (or use a bit of oil or butter). Saute rice and noodles until noodles are browned. Add remaining ingredients, cover and reduce heat til all liquid is absorbed and rice is tender. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

