Quinoa

I have noticed that quinoa (pronounced: KEEN-wah) seems to be more recognized lately. I had never heard of it until a couple years ago.

449px-500g_bag_of_quinoa

What is it?
Many refer to it as a whole grain, but it is actually a seed.

 Why use it?
Quinoa has a very high protein content (see, I’m getting good protein!). Not only is it a protein, but it contains all 9 essential amino acids. That means it is a COMPLETE protein.

Are there any other benefits?
Yep! It is also gluten-free and cholesterol-free (plant foods don’t have cholesterol).

Nutrition Facts:
Nutrition Data for 1 cup: 222 calories, 4g fat, 5g fiber, 8g protein

How do I use/cook it?
Cook it as you would rice. 1 part quinoa to 2 parts water. Or you can use broth in place of the water. Bring to a boil, reduce heat and cover. Let cook 15-20 minutes untill all the water is absorbed.

Quinoa can be used in place of most grains. I like to mix veggies in mine.  Today I had quinoa, sweet potatoes, mushrooms and edamame with a bit of rosemary and salt and pepper.

100_5195

Yesterday I had quinoa, black beans, avocado with cilantro, chili powder and taco sauce.

100_5192

I have also seen breakfast recipes using quinoa and fruit, but I have not tried that yet.

Have you tried quinoa? If so, what is your favorite way to eat it??

Leave a Reply

