Colorful Food

I know in my head that plant-based meals are usually much more colorful than the Standard American Diet (SAD).  This became more obvious while looking at my boards on Pinterest the other night. I started a new board for plant-based recipe ideas and was moving things from one board to another. It was easy to find the plant-based recipes because they were so colorful.

I mean, really, look at that beautiful bunch of veggies. I ate these with a little bit of spaghetti and marinara sauce. They were DELICIOUS!!!!

100_5041

I also made some bread from Artisan Bread in Five Minutes a Day: The Discovery That Revolutionizes Home Baking I love this cookbook. Just mix it up and when you’re ready to bake it you only have to spend a few minutes prepping it! Also…no kneading. They also have a healthier cookbook. Healthy Bread in Five Minutes a Day: 100 New Recipes Featuring Whole Grains, Fruits, Vegetables, and Gluten-Free Ingredients. I made the dough into more of a focaccia-type bread. I figured it wouldn’t take as long to bake that way.

100_5045

Several of those pictures (plant-based) on Pinterest would have looked completely unappetizing several years ago. Now, however, they look so delicious. Much more so than the boring, bland looking pictures of the other board. Why would we not want to eat all these beautifully colored fruits and vegetables? I am so glad that I have learned to like a wide variety of new foods the last couple of years.

Leave a Reply

