Still going

I posted back in August (I forgot I did) about starting a plant-based diet. Amazingly, it really has not been that hard for me to continue. As I said in the post I NEVER in a million years thought I could be vegan (basically what I’m doing). A few years ago, I couldn’t have been. There are tons of foods that I eat and enjoy now that I wouldn’t have even considered then.

Now, I haven’t been a fanatic about eating this way. I’ve had a few things here and there that “aren’t on my diet” as my boys like to remind me. Ha! But, I do have to say some of the things that sound really good, things I think I’m really missing…not so much. They don’t taste as good, but even more importantly I don’t feel good after I eat them. Things like pizza. I love pizza and I’ve had a slice here and there, but it doesn’t quite hit the spot like I think it will. I’m not satisfied like I would be after eating a big plate of sauteed veggies and rice or a nice piece of fruit. Again, I’m not perfect, I still eat things that I shouldn’t, but it’s getting easier to not be so tempted.

It’s a little tricky since my family isn’t eating this way. I just try to make sure there are plenty of veggies, grains and/or fruit to go with their meat. And speaking of meat…that is probably what I have missed the least. Red meat especially. I’ve had a few bites of chicken or fish, but a few bites is more than enough.  In reality, not eating meat has taken some of the stress out of making meals.

Lunches were the hardest. We home school, so we eat pretty much every meal at home. Some days I was so stuck about what to fix for lunch in order to provide the needed protein. In my mind, that protein needed to come from some kind of meat. Now, that pressure is not there. I am content to make a bunch of sauteed veggies, vegetable soup, rice and beans, peanut butter apples, etc. I also no longer feel the need to push the boys to eat their meat.

I haven’t lost much weight since my last post in August. However, I also started working at a restaurant about that same time. I think I was nibbling and eating things I shouldn’t have more than I realized. I am no longer working there, so hopefully the weight will start to go away! I was glad to discover that I did not gain over Christmas…even though I did eat quite a few cookies and plenty of “snacky” stuff. Still less than I would have normally eaten, though. We have been home a week and I am already down 1 pound.

I’m sorry for the rambling. I will try to gather my thoughts a bit more next time. I guess I just feel like I have so much to say, but I can’t say it all at once…

Leave a Reply

