Plant-based diet

I’m trying again. I’m trying something I NEVER EVER, EVER, EVER thought I could do. I NEVER thought I could go without eating meat. Now, I’m not a huge fan of steaks, but I do love some good chicken or pork or burgers or tacos. Who in their right mind could go without eating meat??? Well, I guess I am no longer in my right mind. Ha! Not only have I stepped into the vegetarian realm, but I’ve gone even farther and working on a vegan diet!!! Vegan, you ask. I was never quite sure about what that meant either.

A vegetarian usually eliminates meat (or sometimes just red meat), but a vegan eliminates all animal products…dairy (including cheese, sour cream, butter, etc), meat and eggs. Some vegans even leave out honey. It’s a lot of eliminating, and something I didn’t think I could do.

Then I was told about a documentary called Forks Over Knives and it changed my mind. So much of what they said made sense.

I have been trying to eat a whole-foods, plant-based diet for just over a week and I am astonished that it hasn’t been that bad. You know how it goes when someone tells you that you shouldn’t eat something or when a diet “outlaws” something…carbs, sugar, etc. Well, I have to say that I really have not missed eating meat. Crazy! I haven’t missed the other things too much either. I haven’t been eating tons of cheese because it is high in points, I rarely use milk (just if I eat a bowl of cereal).  The biggest struggle is wanting to bake something and not being sure what ingredients to substitute. Most recipes for cookies, cakes and such call for butter and eggs…hmmm. That will take some practice and trying new recipes.

Tonight as I made supper for my family–who are NOT interested in plant-based–I was cutting up some cooked pork chops and popped a bite in my mouth. I chewed it for a moment and then spit it out. It didn’t gross me out or anything, I just decided that I didn’t really want it.

I’ll try to post about how things are going.

Oh…and in less than a week I had already lost 3 lbs!!! My weigh-in day is tomorrow so we’ll see what is happening.

Have you ever considered a major change in the way you eat?

Leave a Reply

