Not just physical, but mental too

This has been quite a journey already. I am “this” close to hitting 30 lbs lost. I am wearing smaller sizes. I am feeling better. I’m working on better habits.

Those things are mostly physical, but the mental part is often more difficult than the physical. It’s hard to keep exercising (this is a very new habit for me). It is hard to make healthy food choices. Sometimes I wonder how I can continue to do this. It seems like so much time and energy is put into thinking about what I eat. So…this brings me back to the habits.

I’ve got to exchange the bad habits for good. Exchange! I can’t just try to add in good habits, the bad habits have to go too! I still have weight to lose, but I’m beginning to wonder if it is time to stop being so caught up with that and to focus on habits. I need to continue to lose, but there are other things that have to change as well. I can lose all the weight in the world, but if I don’t change those habits, then all that weight will find me again.

This has to be a new lifestyle–a new habit! It HAS to be. I don’t want the health risks that come with being overweight. I don’t want to feel miserable. I don’t want to look that way ever again. I don’t expect to be super thin. I want to be healthy, feel better and have more energy. I feel like I’ve hit a bit of a plateau (weight-wise), but I know that things are still changing. I have to continue working on who I am on the inside. Maybe it sounds silly, but I don’t want to be the same person anymore. One thing my WW leader talked about at our last meeting is that people see her before picture and say she looks like a different person. She tells them “That’s because I am”. It’s about so much more than weight loss. I need to keep that in mind and be ready to work on the whole picture…physical and mental.

Leave a Reply

