Weigh in day

Wednesdays are my weigh in day at Weight Watchers. I lost 2 lbs since last week! I LOVE going to the meetings. It’s great to get advice and tips from others who have been or are where I am-even the leader. She has lost 84.5 lbs and has kept it off for 8 years or something now. We are in the midst of a 10 week challenge. Each week we focus on one area to work on. The first week’s goal was to track daily. The second week we were challenged to eat more filling foods. Last week we were to add 10 more minutes of activity to our day, whether you were currently doing very little or a lot. This week we discussed emotional hunger vs. physical hunger. Our leader had a great list of “signals” for each type of hunger (I don’t have them in front of me right now, but will try to post them at some point if I remember).  This week we are to make a list of 10 things that we can do instead of emotional eating.

I am still trying to fully wrap my brain around the fact that I have lost 20 lbs. 20 lbs!!!! That’s a lot. That’s 80 sticks of butter or 4 bags of flour…it’s almost as much as my youngest child weighs!!!! It’s not been so easy, but doable. I am still working to put this into words. It sounds silly, it’s just weight, and now it’s gone, but it really does change the way that I feel. It’s been more than JUST losing the weight. It is changing attitudes and behaviors. It is the fact that I have stuck with this for more than just a few weeks. I’m working hard to change my outer appearance, but more than that is changing as well.

I’ve whined about the pain from doing the 30 Day Shred. But you know what? Each time I feel that pain, I am reminded that I am doing something for ME! It hurts, but that means I’m putting effort into it and that my body is changing. I CAN do this! I WILL do this!

I’m probably going to repeat things here, but I guess they are worth repeating.  I think something that is really helping is that each week at weigh in I get excited about the loss for the week…whether it’s .2 lbs or 2 lbs…and others cheer me on as well. It’s fun to have those losses, they sound small, but it was ONE week. But all those small losses add up to one big loss.

I guess I’m rambling, but there’s some thoughts for today.

Leave a Reply

