a bit of accountability

The “Shred” challenge doesn’t officially start until next week, but I tried the DVD yesterday since I had purchased it and had been mentally preparing myself to be ready to go. I figured I would do it 2 or 3 times this week, just to get a little more activity in and to start getting used to doing it.

I did it in the morning after my oldest got on the bus. The other 2 boys (almost 4 and almost 2) thought it was great fun to exercise with mom. The 2 year old even brought the DVD to me in the evening saying “exercise”. I told them we would do it the next morning….not thinking that I hadn’t planned to do it every day.

Then, this morning they were both asking me when we were going to exercise. I wasn’t sure if I would do it today or not since my muscles were still pretty sore from yesterday’s workout. YOUCH! But, I decided to suck it up and go to it. I didn’t do the workout completely, but I did get most of the movements in. Did I mention OUCH!!???  We ran a few errands today and my legs felt pretty sore and like they were full of lead…lol! I usually keep a pretty face pace when walking, but today I felt like my legs were weighed down…well, more so than usual. The worst spot that hurts is the top of my thighs. Other muscles are sore, but this is the worst spot. But hey…if that means it’s working on those thighs then hurt away.

I have spent so much time in the last few years THINKING about losing weight and getting in shape, now it’s time to get busy and DO IT!!! One day at a time. If I had spent half the amount of time doing as I’ve spent thinking I would be pretty skinny already, but I haven’t….until now. It’s time to make some change. I need to work on building good habits, habits that will continue when (yes, WHEN, not IF) I reach my goal. Why do all this work if I’m not going to work to maintain it? I’m tired of being overweight, tired of feeling so self concious, tired of thinking about it, tired of being frustrated when trying to buy clothes, tired of being tired. I’m ready to eat better, exercise more, look better, feel better. It’s not all about the outside either, the way I think and act has to change too.

Leave a comment